Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Thank You Carol Stream!!

In a repeat performance of our victory two years ago, all three of our 2015 STL candidates were elected yesterday to four-year terms on the Carol Stream Library Board. 

Just as impressive was the fact that Nancy Bagdonas, Justin Lynch, and David Larimer received more than twice the number of votes than any of the opponents received in the election. This means that in two short years, our STL organization has completely erased the last vestiges of the previous destructive and dysfunctional Board led by Michael Wade, David DeRango, and Dominick Jeffrey and replaced them with seven highly qualified, intelligent, and motivated trustees who will serve the library and community well.

We wish to thank all of the residents in Carol Stream who supported our candidates, helped us to campaign on their behalf, and worked so hard to get our positive message out to friends and neighbors. Together, we have taken the final step in restoring ethical and responsible leadership to our Library Board. The future of our library looks very bright indeed under the leadership of the new Board.

We would also like to extend our deep thanks to Jim Bailey who will be retiring from the Board to relocate in Alabama so that he and his wife can be closer to family members. Jim has devoted many years to our Library Board and has served with distinction, even in the face of some of the most disgraceful actions our community has seen during the Wade/DeRango/Jeffrey regime. We are extremely pleased that he will be able to step down with the knowledge that our new Board is now in a position to serve the next generation of library users with a group of enthusiastic and dedicated trustees who share a positive vision for the future.

Friday, March 6, 2015

Endorsements Keep Pouring in for STL Candidates

Two years ago, the Support the Library Carol Stream (STL) organization was formed to support five excellent candidates for the Library Board. At that time, the community was outraged by the disgraceful actions of several members of the existing Board, and the candidates backed by the STL Committee promised to restore ethical conduct and fiscal responsibility to the Board. The editors of the Carol Stream Examiner endorsed the STL slate of candidates and were joined by former Director Lynn O'Dell and a long list of respected citizens who also enthusiastically supported our candidates.

Voters in Carol Stream elected all five STL candidates in 2013 by wide margins, and the five trustees have done well to restore dignity and respect to the Library Board. The job is still unfinished, however, since two carryovers from the old regime (David DeRango and Dominick Jeffrey) have chosen to run again. The STL Committee has responded with the selection of three excellent and highly qualified candidates who will complete the task of restoring responsible leadership to the Board that we started two years ago. Once again, a long list of respected residents have endorsed these candidates, and so we urge voters to join them and elect these three excellent candidates as Library Board trustees in April:

Justin Lynch
Nancy Bagdonas
David Larimer

2015 STL Endorsements:

Cindy Allston - Citizen of the Year, 2002
Jim Bailey - Library Trustee; Citizen of the Year, 2003; Vietnam Veteran; 33 year resident
Leigh Bailey - Retired Educator; 33 year resident
Jim Benzin - Navy Veteran, Vietnam War; Retired Educator;  21 year resident
Peggy Benzin - Friends of the Library Volunteer; 21 year resident
Patricia Betlejewski - Business Owner: Budget Blinds; 10 year resident
Craig Cronquist - Attorney; 6 year resident
Don Depa - Educator, Glenbard North; long-time resident
Maria Depa - Special Citizen of the Year 2007;  long-time resident
Mary Douglas - Friends of the Library President; 30 year resident
Larry Evans - Business Owner: Graphic Vision, Inc.; 36 year resident
Sue Evans - Four Time Special Citizen of the Year Nominee; 36 year resident 
Rick Fisher - Carol Stream Fire Protection District Trustee
Rick Gieser - Civic Leader; Village Board Trustee; 40+ year resident
Dr. Bonita Berryman Gilliam - Library Trustee
Dr. David Akbar Gilliam - University Professor
Ginny Goldbach - Special Citizen of the Year, 1995; 25 year resident
Mary Hudspeath - Former Library Board Trustee; Citizen of the Year nominee 2012
Beryl E. Jacobson - Former Pres., Forest Glen Townhome Owners Assn; 12 year resident
Brian Jordan - Carol Stream Fire Protection District Trustee
Ed Jourdan - Current Library Board Trustee, Friends of the Library, VP; 33 year resident
Linda Keen - Special Citizen of the Year 2013;  Business Owner: Massage Clinique
Ann Kennedy - Former C.S. Library Director
Mary Heitert - Business Owner: The Mystery Shop; 32 year resident
Susan Lynch - 30+ year resident
Dick Marchessault - Friends of the Library, Membership Chair; Retired Educator
Ellen Marchessalt - Retired Library employee; 30 year resident
Bob McNees - Attorney; Special Citizen of the Year 1987; Former Rotary Club Pres.
Lynn O'Dell - Retired Library Director 1964-2005; 55 year resident
Roger Petty - 2 year resident
Laura Pollastrini - DuPage Cty Regional Board of Schools, Former Library Board Trustee
Greg Schwarze - Carol Stream Fire Fighter, Civic Leader; 15 year resident
Asif Sheikh - 7 year resident
Nadia Sheikh - Current Library Board Trustee; 7 year resident
Barb Siegman - Former Library Board President; CS Woman's Club; 25 year resident
Earl Smith - Retired Educator & Assistant Principal; 51 year resident
Jan Smith - Special Citizen of the Year 1972; Former Library Board Trustee
Luanne Triolo Newman - Special Citizen of the year 2006; Citizen of the Year 1992

Monday, January 19, 2015

Join Us For the STL Fundraiser on February 8

The STL Committee is pleased to announce our slate of candidates for trustee positions on the Carol Stream Library Board, and we invite you to meet the candidates at our upcoming fundraising event at RoccoVino's Restaurant on February 8. Our three excellent candidates, Justin Lynch, Nancy Bagdonas, and Dave Larimer, are all avid supporters of our library and have all taken an active role in library activities.

The three candidates will be on hand for dinner and conversation from 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., but the fundraising event will go on for the entire day. Even if you are not able to join us for the dinner event, please consider dining in or taking out meals anytime during the day to help support our outstanding candidates. Be sure to mention "Support the Library" when you place your order so that the STL Committee receives a percentage of the sales. This will help us to purchase campaign materials for the upcoming election in April.

Many thanks to RoccoVino's for once again hosting an STL event and for graciously sharing a percentage of the proceeds to help our cause. You can view the menu and other information about the rerstaurant on their website: